A Fort Osage High School graduate was one of several Park University students, faculty and staff who were recognized for their exceptional scholarly efforts from the 2016-17 academic year at the Parkville university’s annual Honors Convocation on April 26, held in Graham Tyler Memorial Chapel on the University’s Parkville campus.

In addition to a number of departmental academic honors, the university acknowledged outstanding students and faculty with a variety of special awards.

The most prestigious honor bestowed on any student at Park University – the Outstanding Parkite Award – went to seniors Jeremy Barnes of Buckner and Hannah Bertram of Cameron, Mo. The Outstanding Parkite Award is given to one senior female and one senior male student on the University’s Parkville Campus who best exemplify the ideals of the University in their character, conduct, scholarship and student activity participation. The awards are endowed by Dr. Elliot F. Parker in memory of his parents, Albert George and Jessie Bewley Parker.

Barnes, a senior accounting and business administration/management double major from Buckner and a Fort Osage grad, has excelled in the classroom with a 3.99 cumulative grade point average. During his time at Park, Barnes has been an active student leader. He was elected president of the Park Student Government Association for 2014-15 after having served as a PSGA senator in 2013-14. He was also president of the University’s Accounting Club in 2015-16. He was a first-year mentor for Honors Academy freshmen in fall 2014. Barnes also served as the student representative on the university’s presidential search committee in 2015.

Among his awards and honors: Barnes was named a Presidential Scholar three times (2015-17); received the Outstanding Class Member Award (as a non-graduating senior) in 2016 as one who best represents his class in service to, and participation in, Park University; the PSGA/Cindy Anderson Senator of the Year Award, which recognizes the senator who made the greatest contribution to PSGA during the year, in 2015; and the C.W. Bailey Award, presented to students who have distinguished themselves and exhibited the spirit of the University, in 2014. In 2016, Barnes was awarded a $10,000 scholarship from the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board and a $1,250 scholarship from the Missouri Society of Certified Public Accountants Educational Foundation.

In the Teaching Excellence Awards – to recognize the full-time and adjunct faculty members who exemplify excellence in teaching, as nominated by peers, students and staff – the President’s Award for Teaching Excellence (for full-time faculty) was awarded to Kathy Jackson of Independence, assistant professor of nursing and assistant chair of the associate degree in nursing program.