Second-semester scholarships totaling $14,877 were awarded in January.

Grand River Technical School (GRTS) has announced its annual post-secondary student scholarships for the 2019-2020 school year. Second-semester scholarships totaling $14,877 were awarded in January in addition to $14,250 previously awarded in the fall semester for a total of $29,127 in scholarships awarded for the year. Funds for the scholarships are provided by the Chillicothe Rotary Club, the Matt McCarthy American Legion Scholarship, Kenneth and Vicky Duckworth, the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, the Kenneth and Eugenia Churchill Trust, the Robert and Helen Smith Memorial, the Chris Frakes Memorial and GRTS.

The criteria for selection included: exemplary attendance, work ethic and attitude, and competencies or grades earned. The scholarship recipients are as follows: Chillicothe Rotary Scholarship $750 – Jesse Johnson, Chillicothe, Industrial Welding; Tyler Lundy, Eagleville, Auto Service Technology. Matt McCarthy American Legion Scholarship $500 – Colton Peel, Chillicothe, Diesel Services Technology; and Kadin Lam, Princeton, Auto Service Technology. Robert and Helen Smith Memorial Scholarship $500 – Alexander Williams, Cameron, Computer Networking; Andrew McIntosh, Braymer, Automation and Electrical Technology; Britton Holsted, Lathrop, Automation and Electrical Technology; Calvin Cooksey, Trenton, Automation and Electrical Technology; Clayton Vadnais, Hale, Automation and Electrical Technology; Chris Summerville, Chillicothe, Computer Networking; Cole Daugherity, Sumner, Automation and Electrical Technology; James Fainter, Chillicothe, Computer Networking; Ferrell Peterie, Gilman City, Automation and Electrical Technology; Jacob Hullinger, Winston, Diesel Services Technology; Jesse Steinke, Bosworth, Advanced Diesel Technology; Kaden Watkins, Milan, Diesel Services Technology; Levi Kincaid, Braymer, Automation and Electrical Technology; Matthew Koehl, Spickard, Auto Services Technology; Nicholi Justus, Jamesport, Diesel Services Technology; Ranger Davidson, Braymer, Building Trades; Robert Tanner, Jamesport, Industrial Welding; Troy Allee, Chillicothe, Auto Service Technology; William Kahler, Brunswick, Automation and Electrical Technology; Zachary Girres, Chillicothe, Computer Networking; Zackary Greer, Cameron, Collision Technology; and Zane Jenkins, Cameron, Building Trades. Chris Frakes Memorial Scholarship $500 – Sara Ellis, Macon, Paramedic.

Scholarships awarded in fall 2019 semester were as follows: GRTS Director’s Scholarship $1000 – Austin Nix, Mercer, Industrial Welding; Colton Peel, Chillicothe, Diesel Services Technology; Jacob Olson, Dawn, Industrial Welding; Jared Groebe, Osborn, Building Trades; Matthew Koehl, Spickard, Auto Service Technology; and Zackary Greer, Cameron, Collision

Technology. Kenneth and Vicky Duckworth Technology Scholarship $1000 – Hunter Beasley, Trenton. Kenneth and Eugenia Churchill Trust $3500 – Austin Brown, Chillicothe, Collision Technology; and James Fainter, Chillicothe, Computer Networking. Missouri D.E.S.E. Fee Waiver $438.50 – Justin Brown, Chillicothe, Computer Networking; and Jacob Graham, Mercer, Industrial Welding. GRTS Career Expo Scholarship $250- Chris Sibley, Brookfield, Diesel Services Technology.