The recipients were honored at the annual NWTF Banquet during a special presentation.

On Feb. 1, the Chariton River Full Strutters hosted its annual National Wild Turkey Federation (NWTF) Banquet in Brunswick. Kenny and Tena Callighan awarded 12 area youth with the Scott Callighan Memorial Conservation Partner Permit.

This is a lifetime hunting and fishing permit valued at $550 for each recipient. This year 23 area youth applied for the contest by submitting applications that recounted one of their favorite hunting or fishing stories.

In August of 2013, Chariton County lost a fellow conservationist and dedicated outdoorsman who loved and lived to hunt and fish. Following the death of Scott Callighan, his family requested memorials to be made to the Chariton River Full Strutters’ Chapter of the NWTF in hopes that their son’s passion for the outdoors and his interest in future generations would be honored, according to a press release.

The Chapter decided to host an annual contest for a Missouri Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Permit for Chariton County residents between the ages of 11 and 15. For the fourth year, applications were also accepted from youth in Linn County as well. Applications for the contest are accepted each year in November and December.

The recipients were honored at the annual NWTF Banquet during a special presentation. This contest has been a success over its first seven years, awarding 51 permits.

Each year donations are accepted and a special raffle is held to continue the Scott Callighan Memorial Fund. The Callighan Family and the Chariton County Full Strutters Chapter of the NWTF hope to carry on this memorial in Scott’s name for many years to come. For moer information, call Clint Roby at 660-322-1144 or Tena Callighan at 660-788-3498. Donations to the cause are welcomed and can be mailed to Tena Callighan, 701 E Sunnyslope Dr, Salisbury, MO 65281.

This year’s recipients were: Nolan Gordon, Salisbury; Jace Carter, Salisbury; Slade McCauslin, Marceline; Jayci Stephenson, Rothville; Hanna Moore, Salisbury; Austin Bartholomew, Keytesville; Gunner Evans, Mendon; Avery Lentz, Sumner, Troy Munsterman, Brookfield; Coner Simons, Marceline; Cameron Jackson, Brunswick; and Cameron Boss, Salisbury.